Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take

Due to several factors such as climate change, urban expansion, and industrial development, the populations of many species have decreased or even gone extinct. The claim that society should only protect endangered species if their endangerment is the result of human activities is misguided, and I disagree with it for the following reasons.

Firstly, protecting endangered animals can create more benefits than people might imagine. Thus, society should try their best to preserve those animals, whether their potential endangerment is caused by humans or not. For instance, if a species of deer is endangered due to a severe drought in their forest habitat, the government could try to resolve the drought in order to save the deer. By doing so, not only can the deers live in a better habitat, the air quality in that area could also improve since forests play an important role in clarifying the air. If the government does nothing because the drought is not caused by human activities, not only will the precious species die off, air quality might also worsen. Therefore, the society should protect endangered species, whether or not the cause is human activities, as doing so not only protects the animals but also benefits people.

Secondly, it might take time for experts to find out what causes a species to become endangered. When the experts do find out that human activities are harming the species, it might be too late for society to start planning and saving them. For example, if an animal expert finds out that the population of a particular fish has been decreasing for some time and launches an appeal to the public to protect the species, but the society and government refuse to help because they are not sure whether the cause is human activities, the species might eventually disappear. Therefore, society should take action as soon as possible if a species is potentially endangered, in case it is too late.

Some might argue that the government's attempts to deal with every issue of potentially endangered animals will be costly. However, protecting these animals also means protecting the environment, making it a worthy investment. Therefore, I disagree with the statement that society should only take responsibility when the species is threatened by human activities.