In any field of inquiry the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In

In any field, if one is willing to put in lots of effort and overcome all the challenges they face during the process, they can have a chance to make important contributions, whether they start as a beginner or an expert. The prompt claims that a beginner is more likely to make important contributions in any field. However, I strongly disagree with this prompt for three reasons.

First of all, a beginner does not have sufficient experience or fundamental knowledge of the field. It can be difficult enough for a beginner to learn and understand the basics, let alone the difficulties of making new discoveries. For instance, if a person has just started to learn chemistry, all they know about chemistry are the basic features of some common chemical elements. It would be almost impossible for them to synthesize a new material that provides lots of convenient uses in daily life and benefits thousands of people, since they have little experience conducting experiments or applying theories during the process. Therefore, due to the lack of experience and basic knowledge, it is less likely for a beginner to make contributions.

Secondly, a beginner is not familiar enough with the field to know what discoveries or studies have already been done. In other words, a beginner may accidentally discover something new to themselves, but ultimately learn that what they have found was not something new. For example, if there was a kid who likes plants a lot and has some basic knowledge about plants, they found a kind of plant that they have never seen in a forest. They took the plant home, thought excitedly that they might have just discovered a new species. However, after doing some research themselves, they found out that the plant had already been discovered a long time ago. A beginner usually does not know what part of the field has already been studied and has no idea about which part of the field has more potential value to be studied. Hence, it is difficult for beginners to contribute greatly in a field.

Furthermore, an expert knows more peers in the same field with whom they can discuss their work. When people discuss their work with others, they can help each other spot mistakes and get useful advice. For example, professors at universities often collaborate with their colleagues to conduct research. In the same field, there could be many different branches, and it is not possible for a person to be knowledgeable about all of them. Thus, it would be helpful to have someone familiar with different topics but in the same field to provide professional advice. Since an expert can discuss their work with other experts and receive advice to improve their work, they are more likely to make significant contributions.

However, some might argue that a beginner could give some valuable outsider points of view. However, without an expert’s examination, we cannot know if this new idea is really practical or worthless. Hence, in my point of view, experts are more likely to make important contributions to a field than beginners.