Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

It is in the philosophy of nature, to assert that whatever comes has to go. Modern advances in science, technology, archaeology and paleontology have equipped humans with the knowledge of the various kinds of life forms that existed even before the evolution of humans. If we look at such a timeline that delineates the origin and extinction of a wide variety of species, it might be natural to think that extinction is essentially an unstoppable fate that every species needs to meet. Yet, again, if we nearly estimate the amount of time that certain species have lived and compare them to the amount of time that we human beings have survived on this planet, the staggering difference in those numbers would clearly indicate a competitive edge that humans have over the various other species that have inhabited the earth before humans. A major area of concern for many biologists and wildlife enthusiasts has been regarding the extinction of certain species and their endangerment. Endless debates go on to take a side on what role society has to play in the preservation of such species, and I would be of the opinion that society has a protective duty for its dying neighbors.

To start with, let us first understand that nature is an extremely complex system that demands everything to be balanced for its sustenance. There are even complex subsystems that we study about in the environmental sciences, things like, food chains, food webs, ecosystems, and biospheres. For each of these systems to perpetuate through time in an orderly fashion a balance and diversity in the number and type of organisms is required. Endangered species pose a direct threat on such systems and subsystems. For example, the population of tigers has drooped drastically over the years, and some areas in the world have already declared them endangered. We might think of it as just a classification until we analyse the underlying consequences of such endangerment. In the food chain, tigers lie above goats which generally lie above grass. If the amount of tigers decreases, the population of goats increase, since there are lesser tigers to eat the goats, and an increased number of goats would generally mean that the amount of grass is going to decrease. This imbalance in the food chain sets into motion a tremendous chaos in nature. These consequences directly or indirectly impact human beings, and as inhabitants of nature, it becomes our inherent duty to protect it. For example, if the amount of grass decreases, we can clearly see that the carbon cycle and consequently the level of pollution goes into a state of disorder.

As important as it is, to ensure the safety of these endangered species due to the kind of imbalance that their extinction can set into motion, it is equally important to understand that as the most intellectual, moral beings on the planet, who have unravelled various mysteries of science and have set in stone a variety of moral notions, it is our duty to also abide by them. We have often established a principle of emotions and feelings for others, when they are vulnerable. In the social sciences, this might be regarded as emotional awareness. It is our responsibility to enact these principles irrespective of who is on the receiving end. Saving the lives of endangered species, spreads a message of positivity and unites people of different backgrounds to work towards a common goal, which in turn promotes fraternity, and peace. We have also established principles whereby we despise the selfish. So why should we be selfish, especially when it comes to the matter of life and death, of not just a single organism, but a whole array of species.

Many might argue for us to be indifferent to problems which do not affect us, or our race. In strong condemnation of their viewpoint, it is important to understand that many a times, what might seem not to have a direct causal relationship, might belie indirect consequences which can be grave for the entirety of mankind. World balance can only be established and maintained if the entire society works towards protecting nature and its inhabitants selflessly, more so, because we possess the knowledge to astutely solve these critical problems.