Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Choosing fields of study is an extremely important process in every student’s life. Irrespective of what they choose, almost every student comes across this crossroad at least once in their life. It would have been so much simpler if it would have been just a crossroad and not a plethora of diverse fields to choose from. Educational institutions have a definite role and responsibility to play and carry out in this decision-making process as it is the institution who is supposed to be the best counsel to the student. The student can get all the various kinds of information from them, and thus make a better decision when it comes to choosing a field of study. It is the duty of educational institutions to encourage students to undertake a field of study that has lucrative jobs and opportunities, as it promotes the welfare of the student and ensures the overall advancement of the nation.

Choosing a field of study that has great career opportunities is crucial for the realisation of many goals that students have that they want to fulfil in the future. It is one of the most stable ways of actually realising those aspirational future goals and objectives. Any field of study demands a great deal of effort on the student’s part for quite some years. It is only fair that after putting in so much hard work, the student be rewarded with a lucrative job that offers great salaries and good benefits. Educational institutions, should therefore make it their duty to inform students and make them aware about the advantages of different fields of study that offers them great opportunities, which are not only measured by monetary gain but also measured in terms of growth potential.

In addition, professionals in lucrative careers often get more respect in society. As important as it might be to achieve and realise future goals in the monetary sense, it is equally important to be a respectable member of the society. For example, most people consider medicine as one of the most noble professions, and doctors, in general, get a lot more respect from society than engineers do, although they might be equally lucrative in terms of monetary gain and growth opportunities. We all, as human beings, crave for respect. And what better way to be respected, than to be involved in a respectable profession.

However, not all decisions should be made based solely on the possibilities of earning money or respect. It is equally important to take into consideration, the interest of a student while choosing their prospective field of study. If there is an absence of interest of a student in pursuing any particular field of study, they should not be forced to take that up, however lucrative the opportunities it promises. The lack of interest inculcates a negative feeling and reluctance towards the educational path that needs to be followed to be successful in that field. The potential of growth also decreases with the decrease in interest.

As educational institutions, it should be their duty to inform their students of the various opportunities, that different fields promise, and make them aware of various parameters that are necessary to reach a discerning judgement. I would like to sum up by stating that although it is important for schools and colleges to encourage and guide students to take up promising fields of study, they should never be forced to do the same, if they are not interested in pursuing it, or they find themselves weak in those areas.