Some people believe that conservation efforts to protect the environment at the cost of human progress are unnecessary Others believe that society must preserve the environment regardless of costs or efforts Write a response in which you discuss which vie

Conservation of forests and natural habitat is necessary now-a-days. Rapid urbanization is leading to depletion of natural environment. Even if government has enforced laws for protection and conservation of environment, they are not being followed very seriously by the locals living near forests. Trees are being cut for monetary benefits and this leads to increase in air pollution and rise in percentage of carbon dioxide in the air. Those who believe that conservation of environment at the cost of human progress is unnecessary, do not consider the important role which environment plays in our ecosystem. Today, conservation of environment has become an important topic of discussion. I agree with those who believe that society must take efforts to preserve environment. But, an important point to consider is that there should be a balance between environment conservation and human progress.

In the mordernized society of today, people visit hill stations during their vacation. The reason is that they want to embrace peace with nature. But, if they do not put any effort in conserving the environment, they will not be able to embrace so called "peace". Once the environment is depleted, the consequences of it will be much greater than "cost of human progress" mentioned in the first sentence of this issue. But, this does not mean that everyone should start planting trees wherever they want. Conservation of environment should not hamper human progress in any way.

Activities like mining involve extraction of minerals from earth's crust. These minerals would surely be useful in science and technology industries. But extensive mining can lead to release of harmful gases and radioactive material in the environment around the mine. This release does happen through air. When this contaminated air is inhaled by a living organism, it is possible that he might get infected with some kind of cancerous disease. Hence, activities like mining should be carried out within a certain limit. Now, the question arises that who will define that "certain limit"? Well, it means that mining should be carried out to an extent such that it does not harm the surrounding environment.

Many industries require wood as a raw-material to make or build things. The wood is collected by rigorous cutting of trees. This will lead to destruction of forests on a large scale. An important question arises that how will these wood based industries run if they do not have the raw material needed for it? An answer to this question is that many alternative materials are being developed which can replace wood in near future. The industries should try to use the alternatives. Reducing the use of paper can surely lead to a start in the process of conservation of environment.

In conclusion, we should consider the fact that human progress is necessary and most important. But, this progress will not be of any use if it costs depletion of environment. Humans should consider maintaining a balance between their progress and conservation of environment. This balance will surely lead to a significant progress of mankind.