Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Ease of trading and favorable global markets, helping the corporates to amass great wealth and influence bureaucrat in many countries around the world. Seeing this, some people argue that this organization should take initiatives in promoting social well-being and environment in which they operate. Whereas, other believe that this institutions are already taking part in this initiative by pay tax and they should only focus on creating profits by working within the law. Though this argument seems reasonable, I don’t believe it can help neither organization nor society in down the line.

Firstly, amount paid in the form of taxes is distributed by the government for the overall national development. It won’t be possible for government to utilize its resources for mitigating issues at individual level. For example in developing countries like the much of money is spent on developing infrastructure and repaying debt to international organizations. When it comes to developed nations money is invested in research, and economical projects. Hence, providing scope for corporate to take initiatives.

Secondly, helping employees and their family by creating a healthy environment would help companies to attract highly skilled worker from their competitors and also developing long term relation with them. This in turn can boost company’s productivity and gaining edge over competitors. For example, many employers like Facebook, Microsoft, and google etc. provides day-care centers, fitness centers, transportation, and housing and maternity allowance for supporting their employees.

Thirdly, participating in Social and environmental initiatives help corporate to develop their relation with governmental organization and also in gaining publicity which in turn helps in them in winning government projects or in branding their business. For example, this can be observed in India where Multi-national companies like TCS, Accenture, and Wipro participle in Corporate – Social responsibility initiative organized by governmental agencies.

Therefore, by considering the above points, I would like to conclude that by solely focusing on financial gains, corporate wouldn’t be able to make much progress in development of society nor they will be able sustain in the long run. Hence these institutions should take responsibility of supporting social initiative in their operating environment for their betterment and also for the society.