2. Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented

Should politicians be in pursuit of ideal goals? If so should it be in betterment of nation or supporting caucus?. Though some patriotic people dream of or expect public representatives fulfilling the ideals for a nation or human cause, the possibilities of happening is very minuscular in both democratic and socialist governing systems with current political scenarios.

Firstly, many issues ranging from environment to economic development cannot brought into concession from all sections of the society. For example, building a Dam can benefit a developing country by meeting it’s irrigation and electricity demand but on the other hand I could destroy surrounding ecosystem and live hood of local people. In such a situation, should the government go ahead with projects as planned by ignoring local public outcry? The answer is no because it won’t be possible to implement the project without reaching common consensus with local leader with some tradeoff.

Secondly, as seen above, the pursuit of ideal goals for the betterment of humans can be hindered by national level interest. For example, the German chancellor support to Syrian refuges has sparked public outburst in many neighboring European countries and even in German. Shouldn’t be the people from distressed and war torn countries be supported? The obvious answer is YES but can’t be done until or unless reaching consensus with opportunity seeking opposition leader.

Thirdly, the international issues on resource allocation, border and trade disputes like India – Pakistan border, Israel – Palestine Border disputes which are very volatile and hard to arbiter have an option of resolving peacefully with negotiation and trading-off with some economic benefits.

By considering above points, I can conclude that political pursuit for ideal goals can only be possible in utopian-imaginary state but not in current political system where survival of leader merely depends on the support they amass from materialistic and perturbable mob. But on the other hand, reaching out to common consensus with other groups can help in reaching to ideal goals for betterment of nation or mankind with some tradeoff.