The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Environmental degradation has become a serious concern for the past few decades. The effects of polluting nature can be seen in all major cities and towns around the globe. Even though, Customer waste has been found to be one of the major culprits, there hasn’t been much action taken to address this issue. Some people believe that imposing restriction on customer generated waste collection would be a permanent fix for this problem. Though this idea helps in reducing garbage at dumping grounds it wouldn’t be helpful in eliminating or mitigating this issue.

Firstly, keeping restriction on trash collection will make people think of other unhealthy disposing alternatives like burning the excess garbage in the open air or dumping it in their backyards lead to polluting surrounding environment and exacerbating the issue.

Secondly, garbage collection process is not universally available. When it comes to developing countries like India, Pakistan, and Nepal, where home-owners manually dump their waste at garbage yards, it won’t be possible to measure and limit the size of garbage that has to be disposed.

Thirdly, not all consumer waste can be deemed hazardous. Major environmental problems are due lack proper disposable techniques for extensively used non – degradable material like plastic, chemicals, and other packing materials. This cannot be addressed by limiting amount of trash collection.

Adding to this, some liquid waste and sprays used for cleaning, and removing pest, which are highly dangerous are released directly into atmosphere from the households making it impossible to check and limit their collection.

Finally, after considering above examples, it can be concluded that limiting the amount of garbage collection cannot make much impact in mitigation environmental issues. Government should invest some time and resource in improving recycling and disposing techniques, and also in creating public awareness.