Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as

The balance between corporate social responsibility of corporations and their prime focus on profit generation is highly debatable nowadays. While big companies aim for revenue generation, they should not forget about social side of their business activity that affects brand image. Personally, I consider that the corporations have to desecrate sixty percent of their activity to profit making and the remaining forty – to caring about the community where they function. To elaborate more ion this issue, the for and against arguments will be presented in this essay.

Many big companies impair their reputation by causing harm with their activity to environment as well as providing employees with inadequate working conditions. Resulted from this, their profitability declines because of little social value they produce. For instance, the brand image of Nike has significantly suffered from the protests of its employees in Bangladesh. The people who worked on manufacturing fabrics of the company rebelled against low salaries and harmful conditions of the environment they worked in. The incident became worldly known and the company had to spend extra money for satisfying the demands of the protestants. This case proves the importance of corporate social responsibility for every big company and the major threats when it is not accounted.

The opposite side of company’s value is represented by its financial orientation. Of course, the main purpose of every business entity is its revenue generation, and even the social value that was discussed above has less importance for company’s founders. Except of selfish eagerness to make as much money as possible, higher profit positively impact state budget. The more profitable a firm is, the more taxes it pays to the government and, consequently, the more social benefits a population can get from this money. For example, the system of state social support is strongly developed in the countries with large corporations, primarily, in the United States, Germany, France, Nordic countries. Therefore, the financial value of any firm not only provides its founders with the resources for future growth but also compounds a noticeable part of a state budget.

Personally, I support the idea of partial distribution of company’s social and financial values. As for any enterprise, the main focus of a corporation has to be on its financial performance, while with the sufficient funds it can provide its workers as well as community members with satisfying salaries, working conditions and environmental activities.

To conclude, it is extremely difficult for every enterprise to decide whether it needs firstly consider its social activity and afterwards financial one or vice versa. I agree on the idea of value distribution when the main orientation of a company is on its financial performance and the ability of social support derives from the available financial resources.