Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Art defines a main aspect of culture of a nation. Thus a flourishing and active creativity is important to maintain a nation's identity. In looking at what could be done to maintain a good artistic background, the question arises as to whether government funding is really necessary? Some people believe that it is essential that government funds arts, as without government funding art would not flourish. However it is the belief of some other group that, with government intervention it threatens the integrity of arts. The latter concept has arisen mainly due to the government censoring. However I believe that it is necessary that enough government funding is provided so that it strengthen the arts field.

When we say government funding, along with financial support there comes restrictions and regulations posed on arts. These restrictions and regulations include government censoring; that is not allowing for public display of art that the government feel that is unethical, unacceptable in society and culture and to avoid discrimination on a particular social group. These regulations are mainly forced in order to maintain ethics, peace in society and also to protect children. To what extent and based on what limits should this government censoring be performed is a question. Some artists believe that with censoring they are unable to bring out the true artistic concept of their creation and thus restricts them from expressing their ideas. Therefore they argue that government funding does not actually help to maintain the integrity of arts and prevent them from providing the public with true art.

However, the question is can art really survive and flourish without government funding? Even though government restrictions can affect the quality of arts in some way, I believe that art would in no way survive without the help from government funding. There are many situations in which artists struggle economically. Most of the time, financial deprivation hold many artists from converting their creative minds into art that can speak up. In these cases it is important that government do provide financial assistance for the artists and only through that can quality art would remain. Otherwise there would be a monopoly with only privileged artists and privileged social groups engaged. Also it is important that government fund arts schools at an affordable rate so the upcoming talents can be blossomed to make sure a younger generation of quality artists are there to follow up. Otherwise the quality of art can degrade for generations and it would be really difficult to uplift the quality and back again. Also government funding is necessary to acknowledge the artists as otherwise they would not be encourage and some can even leave the field as there isn't any recognition for their work. These factors indicate the important role the government funding plays in maintaining the quality of art.

Art is a soothing and relaxation experience for human mind. Quality art can provide great entertainment to the general public. A society that can value art is a sensitive, creative, imaginative . Therefore it is important that art flourishes so that quality art is born and it is available to general public. To maintain this level of art government funding would be really necessary.