Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Investing money into something that one is unsure about is not a trivial task. The prompt states that some people hope that government funding is important for the arts to engender; on the other hand, opponents believe that funding would rather tar the integrity of the arts. However, I agree that government funding will flourish the arts as funding would make it widely available to people and the arts would grow along with the people.

Firstly, the art is not something to hide or keep away from people. It is something ubiquitous which should be among the people rather than a specific group of people. For instance, Cricket is a sport that was played in England since a very long time, but as soon as the British started investing money into the sport, it had spread over half of Europe and Asia. Now, Cricket is one of the most known sports in the world; every year more than five hundred million is invested in the sport. The financial support is one of the major reasons for the sport to grow; similarly, if the arts like stand up comedy, music, and painting are encouraged by the government, then more people will indulge themselves into the art form and more talent will come out to showcase the art. Nevertheless, the opponents can argue that when more people indulge in the art form, the base and roots of the art form is lost. For example, earlier there was only one type of guitar and now there are lots of guitar like an electric guitar, etc. So, a lot of people had started making their own music; the original songs were lost somewhere in the past, but isn’t the art meant for the people and by the people. Thus, people should have the complete right mould it according to contemporary thought.

Secondly, the art is crucial to the development of the youth in the nation. If young minds haven’t seen or done anything apart from reading a textbook, then soon the nation will have only prosaic minds, who know nothing, but how to gain textbook knowledge. The youth should be familiar with the world outside the textbook. They should experience different games and point of views; this would help the children to increase their scope. For example, stand up comedy is a wonderful art form; in which the artist interacts with the audiences and makes jokes. This helps the artist to know about more points of views and about more cultures. Therefore, the more knowledge people have, the better they can do enhance the art form. Moreover, the better artist gets, the more number people support the artist which indirectly supports the art. Additionally, the art form also helps the people to forget their daily stressful routine. The more people know about the art and its benefit, the more number people will join it. For example, in the mid-eighteen century, when painting became popular, more number of people started painting after their daily work than before. People would especially take out one hour from their busy routine to mitigate their minds. This activity became so widespread that some people opted to become professional painter; which led to the growth of the art and the artist.

In sum, government funding will not only flourish the art form but also give rise to new art forms and styles.