Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

Children are the greatest imitators of all time. They grow up watching everything around them. Children look up to their parents, siblings and friends while growing up. Its very common to say you behave like your dad, you do certain things like your mom, or you have picked this habit from your friends etc. In this modern tech world its not uncommon for children to be exposed to social media at a very tender age. Children can see the entire world's behaviour on their fingertips. However this is not their entire day routine. Children go to school, attend extra curricular classes such as swimming, dancing, cricket classes etc. At such places they come across many peers of their age. At home they are surrounded by their family members. In an entire day, their exposure to social media usage is minimal compared to the time spent in schools and other places. Since children are constantly surrounded by these people, inadvertently their influence on children is more powerful than the social media. They imbibe values from their parents and friends. Even though they can see scoial media, cultural values, moral education are learnt from people who practice around them in their day to day life. And no parents, or teachers would proliferate violence when the children are present with them. Young minds are inclined to learn not from books but from the behavioural patterns of the people around them. Also many parents have a control on the social media usage of the children. Parents can control the kind of content their child consumes. Hence the chances of children viewing such violent content are less. Its important for parents to practice good deeds, moral ethics and cultural values so their child can automatically learn from them. Children look upto them as role models. The role of parents and friends leave an lasting impact on children.