Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

A person's values and beliefs are the sum of the environment in which they grow up. This environment consists of a myriad of factors, including but not limited to parents, peers, movies and television shows. Although each of these factors contribute in developing a child's value system, I believe that parents and peers influence a child more than any other factor.

Parents are a child's first teachers. They instill moral values in the child and give them a sense of what is wrong and right. Children try to imitate what they observe around them, and during developing years, they spend a significant amount of time in their home observing their parents. For instance, there have been many cases where children of abusive parents grew up to be violent adults. This is because they learn that force is the way to solve every problem in life, at least this is what they observe every day in their parents' behaviour. On the other hand, children of those parents who manifest propriety and moral well-being have much better chance of growing up to be responsible adults.

Outside the home, children spend most time with a selected group of friends. Needless to say, the impact of their peers would be significant as well. It is often said that a person is the average of five people he or she spends the most time with. There are a few bad apples in almost every school. Children who find themselves in a bad company may get carried away, despite their parents not showing any violence. An innocent child in a bad company would try to do unacceptable activities, just to get a sense of acceptance in his or her peer group. This peer pressure eventually change their routine behaviour, and makes them do things they would have been reluctant to do in the beginning.

I concede that violence in movies has became prominent these days. It certainly has some influence on a person. However, responsible parents would teach their children that movies and television shows are different from reality and dessuade them from imitating what they see in movies. Such children would become nearly immune to the effects of violent movies. While they might still enjoy watching action movies as a source of entertainment, they are unlikely to imitate it in their real life.

In sum, it is true that a wide variety of factors influence children's behavior. However, parents and children have a more prominent impact than other factors, considering children spend most of their time in their company.