Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

The issue that there is a discord among the people where some think that increasing violence on the media has mirroring effect on the society, especially on children, while the others think that children's' peer groups and parental role models are a much powerful influence on children's behavior. It would be imprudent to entirely disagree with the any of the two groups above, since there are numerous reason for both being partially correct in certain scenarios while not so in the other.

Firstly, media is actually a mirror for the society and not vice versa. What happens in the society is what is shown in the media. But having said that, it cannot be denied that media houses are not a charitable organization and that they need to rin a business and outrun their competition. For that, the media, resorts to making up sensational stories, giving a misleading portrayal of a certain topic or an issue, just to increase their viewership or the TRP. They do not hold back from hitting the religious, communal or emotional sentiments of a community. This is where the first group of thought might be correct in thinking that the media actually does increase violence.

Now talking about their effect on the children, well it is absolutely unequivocal that the children are now exposed to a myriad of electronic media now, than they were, say a decade ago. And children grasp fast. They lack the maturity of distinguishing the right from the wrong, especially when it is fabricated and put forward with so much of expertise, that even an adult might fall for it. However, it would be be unjustified to categorize all the media houses under one umbrella and say that they are all, as a whole, responsible for bolstering a belligerent mindset. There are, undoubtedly, many honest media houses which actually are the mirror for the society

While the other group does state something that appears irrevocable and something that sounds like a universal truth, it would be entirely true if we were talking of the society a couple of decade ago. Where the children did not have access to a glut of electronic devices. It is indeed, the responsibility of the parents to keep a check on what their child sees, who has access to them and be the role models they should be. But in the present world, it would not be an exaggeration to say that expurgating everything that a child sees is near to impossible. A child now is away from their parents for at least 8 or 9 hours a day! That includes his/her school and of course the time spent on the ever increasing choice of electronic devices. The addiction to the electronic devices is so much that they are actually reluctant to go out and play with their friends! And would rather sit and play on the PS4 or the XBOX. Parents also are now busy owing to a nuclear family where both both the parents are working and need to step out of the house to earn money. So while the second group of though is ethically correct, the situation is somewhat chimeric and is not seen in a majority of households.

While both the school of thoughts are correct in their own stand, neither of them are entirely true and the society today actually sees a mixture of both