Some people believe that it is helpful to view a challenging situation as an opportunity for

personal growth. Others believe that reimagining challenging situations this way occupies

too much of the focus one needs to face challenges effectively.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Surely, whenever one is faced with a challenging situation, he must not slacken or weaken but rather handle the situation effectively, without losing courage. Viewing a difficult and adverse situation as an opportunity gives the individual strength and purpose to face that situation effectively. Hence, I fundamentally agree with the author's claim is helpful to view a challenging situation as an opportunity for personal growth. My viewpoints are aptly illustrated through the below-mentioned examples.

Firstly, to face any challenging situation, one must make relentless efforts to put up a strong fight against any difficult situation and never lose courage or determination. It would be prudent to assume that such an unpleasant situation can be considered as an opportunity for personal growth. For instance, in the year 1945, the Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombings led to several catastrophic results in Japan. Many people had lost their lives and as well as possessions due to these attacks. In addition to this, these bombs released poisonous gasses which led to the spread of several diseases in the two cities. Further, people were devoid of basic amenities such as hospitals or places to eat or sleep. But, even in this unfortunate situation, people did not slacken and saw this challenging situation as an opportunity for personal growth and development. They were determined to rebuild everything that was lost in these attacks. Further, the government had the resolution to make Japan a more powerful nation than it was prior to the attacks. Therefore, as the people saw this catastrophic event as an opportunity for personal growth, they were successful in achieving their goals and facing the situation effectively. It is also quite evident today, that Japan is one of the most powerful and peaceful nations in the world.

However, in contrast to the above statement, some people argue that one cannot always view these situations as an opportunity for personal growth. According to them, we need to focus more on finding solutions and strategies to solve these adverse situations. But, according to me, when we view a particular situation as an opportunity, our mind is automatically inclined towards finding productive solutions for that problem, and thus, we are able to face the situations effectively. Further, assuming the challenge as an opportunity could help the individual to obtain a sanguine and optimistic attitude while dealing with that situation.

To sum up, to face any challenging situation one must not give up on efforts and determination but rather should view this situation as an opportunity for personal growth. Assuming the situation in this manner is effective as the mind immediately starts to find ways and strategies that could help in effectively facing the challenge.