Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Energy consumption is increasing at a fast rate by the youth of the nation. One such day may come when all the energy resources are depleted. I stand for the notion that there is a need to reduce the energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle. Energy resources include both renewable and non renewable resources. Renewable resources should not get depleted as they are the most vital source of energy.

It is imperative for individuals living in a well developed nation to reduce their energy consumption. It will lead to global warming. Lets take an example of coal which is non renewable energy resource. If coal is burnt, it causes air pollution which may adversely effect the health of the people and the climate too which may cause severe health problems. Sustainable lifestyle refers to a lifestyle which does not harm the environment at any cost. Being myself an individual, it will be very difficult to limit the use of energy as everything is related to it directly. We can use the energy judiciously and avoid unnecessary usage. We are surrounded by things which need energy to work upon. Take for example, my laptop. It requires electric energy to charge its battery.

On the other hand, others believe that sustainable life are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change. They do not guarantee that our efforts of reducing the consumption of energy may improve the current situation of the nation. Its not worth the risk. To lead a sustainable lifestyle, one has to limit the usage of all energy consumption related devices which is absurd in this 21st century. We all are surrounded with electronic devices which play a vital role in our lives. Mobile phones also require energy which comes by charging its battery. Nowadays, Mobile phones are the basic need of an individual on which they cannot give up on. Existing evidence for global climate change could be not authorized.

Hence, we cannot rely only on the statistics provided based on the global climate change, It can make a huge difference to mankind. In my opinion, we should judiciously make use of the energy provided to us.