Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy. Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students.

Education is the process of acquiring knowledge, skills, values, beliefs, etc. The role of an effective teacher is to smoothly facilitate this learning process. Whether the most important qualities of an effective teacher are empathy and understanding or rigorous and demanding attitude in their expectations of the student is a contentious issue. Voluntary participation of students is crucial for holistic learning which in turn can only be achieved through understanding and empathy on part of the teacher. Therefore, these qualities take precedence over other in the effective pedagogy as corroborated by the following benefits.

Firstly, building a positive relationship with students is important for a teacher to invoke their attention and interest towards his subject. When students feel that they are being listened and understood they reciprocate the gesture by being receptive to the teachers instructions. It is for this reason that more often than not, a student’s favourite subject is the one taught by his favourite teacher. Secondly, knowing and addressing the root cause for a student’s slow progress is instrumental for a teacher to ensure their academic growth and mental well-being. When a teacher displays empathy, students get the assurance that their problems would be seriously acknowledged and understood. This, in turn, prompts them to disclose their weaknesses and circumstances that can then be addressed by the teacher. For example, a student struggling with the most basic calculations in mathematics is more likely to approach an empathetic teacher rather than a demanding one out of fear of embarrassment.

Thirdly, regulating student behaviour is paramount for a healthy learning environment. Many times, students suffer with behaviour issues either due to intrinsic reasons or extrinsic circumstances and require regular counselling and consolation. Such students might perceive the presence of a demanding and strict teacher as challenging to their freedom and may exhibit violent and rebellious behaviour. A teacher with an understanding and empathetic nature, on the other hand, can more easily pacify and control such students much for the good of classroom ambience and the others. And finally, teachers can only inculcate the values and beliefs in their students by being leading examples themselves. Given that the values of empathy and understanding are vital for present generation to deal with the pressing problems of the future such as climate change or global pandemics, teachers must exhibit such qualities in their practice.

On the contrary, being rigorous and demanding teachers can seriously impede learning by inflicting psychological damage on the students. Under a constrained setting induced by a demanding teacher, student would only superficially follow the instructions without any joy of learning. With impossible deadlines to meet, gigantic syllabus to cram and crunch time for exam preparation, all under a demanding and rigorous teacher, a student can never attain the level of motivation and mental freedom to explore the subject. The immense pressure, thus created, would restrain s student’s mental and intellectual abilities. Inability to cope with such pressure, can force students towards suicide or adopting unfair means.

Nevertheless, undue leniency in the garb of empathy also results in poor academic participation and performance. In the presence of myriad distractions in the form of technology, sports, etc., it is but natural for students to get diverted without any accountability from the teacher. A demanding nature is also necessary to foster students for the fiercely competitive outside world. Yet, strictness and understanding nature are not entirely mutually exclusive qualities. A teacher must have enough maturity and flexibility, to use these qualities as per the need of the situation and students. In fact the demands of an understanding teacher are more likely to be met by his students than that of a martinet.

In conclusion, the qualities of empathy and understanding in a teacher go a long way to smoothly facilitate a student’s education. In helps a teacher to build rapport with the students, understand and address their problems, control their behaviour and inculcate values in them. Yet, the mutual coexistence of a pinch of rigorousness and demanding attitude in teacher is also warranted to keep students checked and competitive.