Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy. Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

What are the most important qualities of a teacher? Some people argue that understanding and empathy are the most imperative, while others think that they should be rigorous and demanding expectations. I concede that understanding and empathy do play a great role in the development of students, but the strict expectations are more effective in cultivating talents for the society and students themselves.

To begin with, it is true that teacher should have the qualities of being understanding and empathy. Each student is different and unique. Only when a teacher understands and knows well of the condition of a student, could this student develop healthily, especially on a mental level. These days, the increasing rate of student suicides has become a tragic reality, impacting both families and society. Various factors contribute to this phenomenon, such as heavy schoolwork, peer pressure and stress from family. If teachers are understanding and careful enough to pay more attention to some detailed actions, including the student’s moodiness, social withdraw and act abnormal behaviors, and then have a timely talk with the student to find the specific reasons and give some constructive and encouraging words, these kinds of tragedies could possibly be avoided. Thus, understanding and empathy are effective features for teachers to set a correct mindset for students and keep them mentally healthy.

However, I maintain that being rigorous and demanding in students' expectations is more significant, even the understanding is also important. If the teacher has a high demand in students' academic performances, they are more inclined to get a good score and have a better studying quality, because they are expected by someone. That will certainly give them motivations to strive for a high level. And teachers should have been strict in this field, because the purpose of education is to select students who are more excellent from many by a fair exam. Teachers are responsible for enabling the students to perform well in this exam. For instance, the "Gao Kao" in China is very rigorous and fair, every student should take it after high school, and that score helps to tell what levels are the students and which corresponding colleges should the students enter. If the expectations from the teachers are high, the student would be more diligent and they are more inclined to get into a top-notch university with a high score, which promotes more educational recourses and the possibility to be a talent.

Furthermore, teachers should not only limit their expectations on students' academic performance. A good educator should prepare students well for the future, that is, to be adapted to the fierce society. Teachers should cultivate the well-rounded ability of students by being rigorous and demanded. For example, students should learn the ability of time management, leadership, how to deal with the relationship between their boss and colleagues. That are all necessary in the later of their life.

To summarize, although understanding and empathy are crucial to student's development especially in mental health, I believe being rigorous in expectations is a more important quality for teachers, especially in the field of assisting selecting talents and preparing students to the future society.