Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The author states that some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise and others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives. I believe that the public should always be in control of theirown fate and hence I would count myself amongst the former group of people. My stance is expounded with the help of the following points

I strongly believe that the fate of the entire nation should not be decided according to the principles and objectives of political leaders. I feel so because a nation is made of it's people and the entire future of these people should not be moulded according to the principle and objectives of a few politicians. These politicians are a representative of the nation and they were once a part of the crowd that they now represent. So these politicians should always accede to the publicopinion even if it comes at the price of the compromise on their own principle because they are supposed to represent the nations and not enforce their principles on the nation.

Apart from this, I believe that the people know what's best for them. They are the essence of the nation. The nation is where it is because of the people that make that nation. They live their life in that nation and hence they are able to draw distinctions on what is good and what is bad for them and for the nation. Most of these people are just what we call "common man" who are living their life in the nation so sure, they might need guidance sometimes to help them understand some situations better and that is where the politicians should come in to help bring the truth to the people and then let the nation decide for itself what is best rather than the politician remaining committed to particular principles and objectives. The power to decide their fate should always be with the people of the nation.

All that being said, I also have to acknowledge the fact that sometimes when the politician remains comitted to their principle and objectives, the nation might prosper under certain circumstances but this kind of situation can equally have the completely opposite result where the political leaders lead the nation to it's doom. But even considering the best case scenario, where the antion prospers wherethe political leaaders, the people will feel like they don't have a voice and that they don't ahve the liberty to decide what is best for them.

Therefore, considering different scenarios, I believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion as that is the way that the people are allowed to make decisions about their own lives.