Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Leaders are often created by public demands, but it does not guarantee that the opinion between leaders and the public is always the same. In many occasions, leaders make policy which directly opposes to public opinion, and therefore it is debatable whether leaders should always compromise with the public opinion. Although there are some occasions where leaders should compromise, I think that leaders are better to stick to the principle.

Granted, in some cases, leaders should follow public demands and forgo the principle. In case of dealing with Ukraine-Russia war, for example, the obstinacy of Putin and his cabinet resulted in the dire calamity. Although many of Russian people vehemently expressed the lament toward the government though a series of protest, Putin ignored the public opinion and begot the currently ongoing war. As a result, Russia is now literally insular in terms of economy, and many Russian people are now suffering from economic problems such as inflation and low employment rate. As this compelling example shows, leaders should sometimes follow the public opinion.

However, the aforementioned example does not mean leaders should always follow the public opinion for the sake of compromise. The problems that western countries encounted during the advent of COVID shall epitomize this aspect. As for all kinds of coronaviruses, it was evident that wearing a mask would significanly reduce the spread of the virus and the concomitant death rate. Thus most of the western governments enacted the policy which imperate people to wear a mask at first. Sooner, the public demanded that wearing a mark be optional, and consequently many leaders of the western country abrogated the policy. This decision of western leaders to follow the public opinion end up resulted in the higher death rates and slower recovery of economic indexes. If they had not compromised with the public opinion, they could have recovered from the adverse impact of the virus more promptly. Therefore, this example reveals that leaders should not always follow the public opinion.

In conclusion, although leaders should occasionally follow the public opinion, they should in general maintain the principles and objectives. After all, in most cases, what representative democracy expects leaders to do is not to be swayed by the public opinion, but rather adamantly stick to the principle.