Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

What makes an effective political leader has been a controversial topic for long. Especially since the development of internet, the power of public opinion has grown and pressuring political leaders to conform to it. Thus, more and more people claim that an effective leader should yield to public opinion. However, I believe that political leaders should be able to remain unaffected by public opinion and insist their principles, for the public is witless and wayward.

1. political leaders were usually chosen to lead the crowd and represent the people because they have outstanding characteristics or abilities. As a well-respected philosopher once said, the truth is controlled in the hand of a few, his words demonstrates the impossiblity for most of the people to have the intelligence to capture the truth. Listening to the public opinion gives the unwise crowd the power to decide the future of their community, which could be extremely perilous. Human society has long realized the dangerous of handing the public the power, thus they have selected the best of them to become the leader and make the best decisions for their people. Leaders being controlled by public opinion is a degeneration of human society and a counterintuitive action, which will cause the human society to face devastating consequences in the future.

The public has two characteristics, one is witless, as mentioned earlier, the other is wayward. Public opinion could be easily influenced by numerous factors and is highly effected by emotions. This means that the public opinion might be preferring one policy yesterday, then be swayed by a tactful propaganda tomorrow and change their opinion. However, policies cannot be volatile as public opinion since it takes time for policies to influence the society and improve people's well-being. If political leaders continuously be swayed by the public opinion, it would be impossible to set up long term policies and implement it.

Previous arguments based on the fact that the political leader has both wisedom and care for the people, if not, the political leader cannot win the public's trust and support for his leadership when he stand against the public opinion. In addition, leaders without these characteristics are incapable of leading the people on the right path and making a positive impact to the society. Therefore, I believe the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles is definetly a crucial quality of an effective leader, but wisdom and care for the people should be included as one of the most essential qualities as well. Only the combination of wisdom, care, and principle could create an effective leader.

In conclusion, political leaders should be the leader of the crowd instead of the puppet of the crowd. Leader needs to restrain the witless yet wayward public and use their wisdom and care to lead the people on the right way. Therefore, following their principle is one of the most essential qualities of political leaders.