Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Learning is the process of gaining knowledge, new skills, and values. It is something that people can do by themselves, although it's generally made easier by education: a discipline that is concerned with methods of teaching and learning in schools or school-like environments as opposed to informal means of socialization. One cannot deny that learning can happen more efficiently with the help of education. However, there are a number of other factors, some of which are even more important than schools and colleges, that contribute to the process of learning.

Personal discipline is one of the most important factors. Schools and colleges can set rules, society can inform a child about the importance of learning in getting a good job or intellectual growth. But, it is the personal discipline that decides whether to follow these rules or not. Inner motivation and curiosity help us in learning new things.

The environment and culture in which a person has been brought up have a great impact on their views on the importance of learning. This difference can be easily understood by comparing the education system of different regions and their students. For instance, the US education system focuses more on practical learning while the Indian education system is more focused on grades and rote learning, especially at beginner levels of education. As a result, students from not-so-elite schools find it difficult to adapt to the new methodology of learning in Indian colleges and universities.

There is one more factor that tops the list of essential factors of learning, and that is "mistakes". Mistakes are the best teachers. No matter whether it's our own mistakes or other peoples' failures that we learn from, it is what teaches us what to do and what not to do. This can be applicable to any field had it been science, technology, medicine, economics, politics, or even arts.

It is true that schools and colleges play their part in the process of learning. One may argue that schools and colleges are the places people get all their education throughout childhood and adulthood. Is it true that these are the only places where one can learn something? Certainly not. The significance of schools and colleges is easily noticeable when we consider the need for social skills or collaboration. And again, these skills are subjective to an individual. It may happen that a student with all these opportunities decides to learn nothing at all. On the other hand, a student with minimal resources but an insatiable hunger for learning becomes a scientist, a doctor, an engineer, and whatnot.

Therefore, it can be concluded that the environment, culture, education system, available resources, and above all, personal discipline contribute equally to the process of learning as schools and colleges, if not more. It's the curiosity, hard work, and persistence in the face of adversity that helps people to learn more than anything else.