Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free

The purpose of education is indeed to free the mind and spirit. While it is true that formal education does have certain restrains, it is a vital part for the development of an individual and that of society as a whole.

Formal education in the twenty first century comprises of carefully designed curriculums. These curriculums have been moulded over the years, in accordance with the research and developments that took place in the education sector. Education, especially for kindergarten and primary level kids is a pivotal part of development of their brains and shaping their personalities. At this rudimentary level, formal education I believe is an indispensable tool for nurturing the minds and spirits of the kids.

Furthermore, learning the basics of any subject, be it Science, Math or Art, is a pre-requisite for excelling in that particular field. We certainly cannot expect Elon Musk, for an instance to come up with exciting ideas for electric vehicles if he does not know the basics of physics. While it is true that a lot of individuals like Albert Einstein reached the zenith of human intelligence without true formal education, it is important to consider that these were individuals comprising of probably the top one percentile of human intelligence. Hence while considering humanity as a whole, formal education, in a way is the ladder to reach the pinnacle of success.

It is indeed true that for a lot of individuals face the limitations that come with formal education. Grades eventually become more important than holistic learning, which is especially true with higher education. The frivolity of students is looked down upon, causing a lot of them to lose interest. Much of the masses get more entrenched towards achieving superficial success, the kind that would help them secure a job in the future. This is certainly a restrain posed on our minds by formal education.

The purpose of formal education is certainly debatable, though not in the rudimentary stages, where it is an indispensable tool for holistic development.