Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

“Education is the powerful weapon which you can use to change the world”-Nelson Mandela

From the ancient time education is playing a significant role in day to day lives. Infact, education has eradicated the dark side of a society and preaches the light of hope to the people.The prompt recommends that some people think that education makes the mind and spirit free whereas others think that education which is learnt formally, constrain our minds rather than setting them free.In my opinion,I mostly agree that “formal” education can restrain the mind rather them set them free for three reasons.

Firstly , formal education starts from our childhood. Sometimes over serious parents insist their little children to study at an early age so that in future they can be an “Educated” citizen of the prospect country. As a result at a little age the child thinks it ,as a bound duty without finding the core essence of education. In history we see numerous examples that people who does not get formal education also shine in their life.For example the famous poet Rabindronath Tagore did not have any formal degree,yet he was the first poet who achieved Nobel Prize in Bangla literature .It is because ,he did not make himself bound to the limit of education rather he set his mind free with the help of nature ,circumstances and environment .So formal education can never be a path to free our mind rather it limits our spirit.

Furthermore ,does really formal education makes a man educated in real sense?In our society there are many people who obviously is literate with the standard of society, but have a very shallow mind .If a man do not help other people when anybody seeks for it ,become begrudge to the people who does better than him and to them life is a complete race,will formal education really sets their mind free? .They do not try to learn becoming a better human being ,rather formal education make them a puppet who will earn money in near future .

Moreover ,Formal education only give us knowledge through books .It does not have any empirical effect.A man should learn from all the aspects .To be genuinely a good man he should learn from the society , from the environment and from other people .Without mixing other people we never know the other persons perspectives, his thoughts and without putting ourselves in their shoes we really cant judge a people .And it will surely restrict our mind. Education does not mean it just have to be learnt in an institution for a purpose rather it should for becoming a better human being with a creative and universal mindset .

However ,formal education does not only have demerits but also some benefits too. It shows us a path and a guideline to educate ourselves. Formal education builds the basic foundation of a human nature and other prospects of society just strengthen it . But surely only stick to formal education a person will limit his or her mind rather then flying with wings up above the sky.