Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

“The best brains of a nation are found at the last seats of a classroom” – APJ Abdul Kalam

I strongly support the point that formal education tends to restrain the inner creativity of a person. Starting from the very beginning, when children enter school, you cannot expect everyone to grasp knowledge at the same pace and be on the same level of acceptance while teaching the same courses and patterns of study. Each student has his own caliber of learning and tries to perform his level best in his own way which cannot be streamlined for a wide variety of students at the same time. What I feel is that formal education should be given up to a certain extent so that it helps the student to realise his or her own interests but should not be forced upon them for an unnecessarily long period of time.

When we take a look at the successful people around us, it will be quite a shocking revelation that most of the people who have big companies to their name or are doing very good in the show business are the ones with no formal educational background.

The biggest example is of Mark Zuckerberg, who being a bright student got admission into Harvard but even the world’s best college could not stop such a bright mind from dropping out and starting his own venture i.e. Facebook, which is now a global phenomenon in terms of connecting people all over the world with more than 1 billion monthly active users. Although Mark Zuckerberg got the idea of Facebook from one of his friends at Harvard did not mean that he had to wait for the entire duration of the course and then start with his company. He realised that being at Harvard is more of a hindrance in terms of utilization of time than it is productive.

Next we can take the example of Sachin Tendulkar, who is considered one of the greatest cricket batsmen ever. He was only in the 10th grade when he realized that he needs to follow his passion and not the puppetry of completing school and going to college as most of the indian students do. He told in his biography that he was forced to study and was told to focus only on one thing at time and the idea of playing cricket as a profession was not really well suited among his parents, but only for his elder brother who realized that he had the talent and the will to play so he got him admitted into a cricket academy and the rest is history.

There is a big difference between ‘Education’ and ‘Knowledge’. Education is a streamlined way of imparting knowledge, while knowledge can be gathered not only from education but also from life experiences, self-revelation, practical experiences, etc. . What one needs in life is knowledge, and formal education is not the only hard and fast way to receive it. Formal education is only needed to a certain extent until you get the spark that is needed to ignite your desires and show you a way and as they say - It’s not what they teach you in school that matters, it’s the experience that you get as you go along which paves a way for you in being a better human being.