Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The true purpose of education is to teach young minds about the real world, about ethics, about propriety and many other aspects of life in order to create a substantial backbone in the future of our society. The prompt argues the differences between the aim of education. I strongly agree with the notion that the education broadens the mind and spirit and gives us a clear consciousness about life for the following two reasons.

Firstly, it is painfully obvious that a uneducated society can be very noxious and they dwellers in the society ultimately face moral destruction. If we try to find the answer to the question, "Why is this moral degradation happens mostly in the comparative uneducated society?"--it will become pellucid that education is the key which will mend the mind. For example, take the rural African countries into perspective. The warlords rule and torture over the common people and deal in illegal substances and even human trafficking. Surveys prove that these warlords come from a society where education was scarce due to poverty. They environment around these tyrants failed them to provide moral education. The above example illustrates how education frees up the mind and spirit and let us distinguish between good and evil.

Secondly, even if we assume that these extreme cases are not the general idea, we should at least clearly see the contrast between a educated and non-educated person in every aspect of life. A proper educated person can innovate, can design and even create new things using their intellectual mind. For example, all the innovators of the modern era came from a high education background. Innovation can not happen without free mind and spirit.

In contrast, it is ceded that, the recent education system, sometimes, seems to constrict students only to study for tests or for job security. The test or memory based education system of the developing countries can not ensure a bright young generation. For example, in the developing countries, teachers seem to coerce the students only to study the materials that will come up in the examination. Even the parents are very hangovered by the idea that, getting good grades is the only indication of getting good education. Such viewpoints inhibits the mind and strains the imagination of a young student, which, in the long run, will ultimately cause the society more harm than good. But, modern erudite and commensurate of the education systems have come to understand the problem and constantly trying to modify this "study for exams"- based view.

In conclusion, while the prompt is correct when compared to certain type of education, it is still obvious that a good formal education will always enable a young mind to innovate and prosper.