Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed to us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realized.

I am agree with that scientific discoveries given us a much better clearity and understanding of world around us. Instead of making the things complex. This is because the these discoveries give us the actual fact rather than doctrine that we were following since ages. This may include day today life small discoveries such as falling of object downward, formation rainbow, cleaning of cloth etc.

Firstly take a most popular doctrine that all planets revolve around earth was followed through centuries till Galilio had given a scientific proof that earth is not stationary and it revovles around and not the converse. Due to Galilio's discovery we go to know exact fact.

In supporting to this we could have another example of natural phenomenon of formation of rainbow. We actually unaware of that there are particular conditions need to occur to form rainbow. Such as, observer should face towards rainbow and back towards sun. When the ray enters into water drop at particular angle the spectrum of color forms and these water droplets results in rainbow. This gives

clarity beacuse scientist has provieded us the facts and procedure. otherwise we will be just enjoying the rainbow and considering it as creation of God.

The others who thought these are making world more complex is not wrong on some ground. This is because it not nessceessry all should understand these discoveries. Take same example of rainbow formation and situation is that your are explaining it to say milkman. You are going on explain him phenomenon of reflection, refraction, dispersion along with terms like refractive index, spectrum. This would be getting complex for him. He would rather say why are you going in this much detail? just enjoy the rainbow.

So, on the basis of the above explainations, I would like to say those we can understand science and its discoveries for each new discovery will help to much better understanding the world around us and for others it is just complexing the world nothing else.