All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

To mandate a school-funded driver’s education course for all high school students poses as a great strategy to educate the youth and improve young driving records around Centerville, but the argument includes evidence that requires some finer analysis before any decisions should be made. The author of the letter makes a few assumptions about the causality of the issue and the potential response of the solution which hurts his or her argument.

Citing increased teenage accident records in the past two years helps the author draw attention to the severity of the issue. However, the author fails to provide context regarding the increased car fatalities involving adolescent drivers: how many accidents is several? depending on the population of centerville, 20 crashes can be considered a vast amount or it can be considered an unfortunate normality. Knowledge of the percentage of teenagers in car accidents in centerville would provide more insight on the gravity of vehicular collisions in the youth.

another hole in the author’s claim is the belief that the additional instruction works and will improve the driving ability of teens. The author uses this implication to propose that the best solution would be to provide driving courses to the students to reduce car crashes. More data would be required to validate this relationship such as the accident rate of teenagers who have passed the course versus the collision percentage of students who have not taken the training. this information will empower the reader to verify the effectiveness of proposing additional driving instruction to students in their ability to reduce and avoid crashes.

Also, the insistence of a school funded program originates from another assumption. The writer claims that low-income families cannot afford to pay for additional driving lessons, and thus their education should be subsidized by the school. Therefore, the school should fund driving classes for all the students. Instead of subsidizing all students for these extra courses, depending on the number of teenagers belonging to low-income families who also drive, perhaps the school could look into subsidizing only families who need financial help. Based on the number of people who require financial help the decision should be made whether it makes administrative sense to have a school funded course curriculum or not.

Overall, the proposal to design, fund, and implement a common high school driver’s education series has wishful intentions. unfortunately, lack of evidence and unproven assumptions hurt the writer’s argument, so it cannot be said for certain whether this proposal would be the best solution to the teenage car crash issue.