Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student s field of study Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help prepare the

Universities often offer a plethora of courses to their students to shape which they can choose to improve in their career prospectives.The prompt however argues between some people believing universities making it mandatory for students to choose from variety of courses to few contradicting this belief and emphasising on them taking courses which align with their careers and improve career prospectives. I agree with the later view and feel students should focus more on the subjects that help them prepare for job opportunities due to three reasons.

To begin, let's consider an example of a student majoring in civil engineering and is currently working on preparing his thesis on a sewage waste treatment management plant. The student might be already occupied with a lot of subjects to qualify in his grad along with thesis papers to write. If the university makes it mandatory to take a course related to British History, that would make learning far more difficult to the student as it does not align with his career interests. Of course some people might argue that taking wide range of courses might improve a person's knowledge in various domains, but in my opinion theoretical knowledge of a subject that the person has taken for a single semester does not improve much knowledge in that field.He would rather be burdened with additional courses and end up receiving less grades in both grades, as he is focused on achieving multiple things half-heartedly, rather than focusing on one important domain. It is always better to have a fully working knowledge in a domain rather than half-heartedly exploring all domains.

Further, there also seems to be a flaw with the first view of people, where they expect to make it mandatory for all students to take variety of courses. This would not interest a lot of students because , every individual has different expectations from university.Some might want to explore new courses while the other's might not be interested in taking courses that do not align their interest at all. So, it's better to include courses that could possibly align with their major studies and can be taken as electives. Why? Because they might come in handy in the later part of their lives. For instance, a student who is taken up drama and cinema as their field of interest could possibly benefit from taking electives in cinematography and editing courses, as that would align with their goal at the same be helpful in future.

Similarly, even though universities are going to make it compulsory for its students to take in mandatory courses, they need to evaluate the structure and difficulty of the course beforehand. Most of the time undergrads tend to get stuck in an unhappy, irrelevant and an unknown course on top of which they have to deal with complex course syllabus. This would reduce their chance in devoting more time to the main domains but would shift their focus to unwanted domains because they are in the apprehension of completing a course, obtain some grade and just get over with it. They would not focus on absorbing the concept but rather focus on just finishing it. Stress and anxiety would be an add on to this result in overall poor performance of the student.