Some people claim that a nation s government should preserve its wilderness areas in their natural state Others argue that these areas should be developed for potential economic gain Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns wit

As the environmental problem becomes more and more serious, people all over the world are trying to find ways to solve this major problem and the solutions. But I don't think it's realistic or reasonable for the state to preserve all of the remaining wilderness.

However, requiring all countries to establish such laws ignores the practicality and potential consequences that will undermine its reasonableness. Firstly, even with strict protection of wild areas, the environment will not necessarily become better. There are many examples of natural disasters triggered by geological features of that place, which cause major environmental damage, such as natural forest fires. For example, the Greater Khingan Mountains fire in northeast China in recent years happened due to extremely dry weather in summer. Many wildfires polluted the air and destroyed forests. When dust from wildfires spread into the air, people and other animals could breathe in polluting particles in air. Not only did the natural forest fire lead to the death of suffocating wild animals, but also it pushed many more wildlife to leave their habitat. Therefore, protecting wilderness by establishing laws may do little to solving environmental problems.

What’s more, it is possible that protecting wilderness can actually hinder economic development. Some countries, for example, some desert countries, are in places that are inhospitable to human habitation. They must rely on wilderness development to maintain and promote economic development. After all, the primary task of every country is to safeguard the living standards of its people and its own strength. Therefore, there is almost no chance that these countries will pass such laws. Consider, for example, United Arab Emirates forbids any oil drilling plants established in its desert areas with huge oil resources. The country will lose immediately a huge amount of tax revenues from oil exploitation, therefore unable to invest in infrastructure development, provide citizens with medical, educational and housing benefits, and even import fresh water for domestic use. It is apparent from this example that some countries cannot survive without the use of natural resources in its natural environment.

True, some may argue that ensuring the execution of established laws is not costly. The cost in sustaining such an act could easily be spared from, for example, combatting corruption within governments. However, in less developed countries, tight governments’ budgets may have more to do with their comparatively lower economic level, instead of corruption in their governing systems. To those countries, seconds thoughts needs to given in sacrificing economic gains for environmental protection.