Some people claim that you can tell whether a nation is great by looking at the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. Others argue that the surest indicator of a great nation is, in fact, the general welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The question of how to measure the greatness of a nation is a complicated one. Some believe by looking at the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists can show how a great a nation is. However, a great nation truly is seen by the general welfare of all its people.

First, the achievements of more well-known individuals do not necessarily show the circumstances of others. Take into account the popular Bollywood star Shah Rukh Khan in India. Khan is amongst the most popular and richest actors in the country of India. One of the houses he owns in located in Mumbai, India and is surround by homes/sheds of individuals of those who are struggling make money. India has a high number of individuals in their population living under the poverty line. These people sometimes do not have the money to provide shelter nor food for their families or themselves, so they sleep and beg on the streets. The luxurious life of Khan is an inaccurate representation of the greater picture of the nation. Thus, by specifically looking at the accomplishments of rules, artists, or scientists does not show the greatness of a nation because it does not represent the majority of the nation.

Furthermore, a nation that does not prioritize the welfare of its residents cannot be great nation. For example, China is amongst the leading economies in the world and has the biggest export businesses. But can it be considered a great nation based on these solely these facts? The communist party rules over the Chinese population, making all relevant decisions for the country and its people without the input from the people. From shows aired on the television and radio to books to the internet is monitored and filtered by the government. So, the citizens of China truly have no true picture of the rest of the world and the outside world has inadequate representation of China. Even though, China has successful exporting businesses, it cannot be surely stated the country of China is great because its people are not given freedom of choice nor speech and nor are, we guaranteed their wellness.

Lastly, some may argue that the leaders of a nation have to thrive to ensure the welfare of its individuals, indicating a great nation. Though true to an extent, there is fault to this idea. For instance, Kim Jong Un, the president of South Korea is worshipped by the population of South Korea. Un shows a false representation of himself to the people of South Korea and to the rest of the world. Through what South Korea attempts to display, it seems as Un is a successful leader and their