Some people claim that you can tell whether a nation is great by looking at the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. Others argue that the surest indicator of a great nation is, in fact, the general welfare of all its people.

If we were to talk about Germany, we all know that Albert Einstein and Hitler belong from there. These are one of many geniuses Germany produced as one is greatest Physics Professor of all time and other the one who started world war II. If we take America George Washington and Abraham Lincoln. In case of India, we have Mother Teresa, Vivekananda , Mahatma Gandhi, Bhagat Singh. These are some of the people majorly who represent out countries in various fields and show how our countries developed sue to some of their decisions.

I do not completely agree with the statement "Some people claim that you can tell whether a nation is great by looking at the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. Others argue that the surest indicator of a great nation is, in fact, the general welfare of all its people" , it is primarily because the people who had achieved greatness show how great our country is, i.e. If Albert Einstein did not create Einstein's Theory of Relativity, then nobody would have known his name then nobody would figure that he cam from Germany and the education and knowledge given to students there is so good that it can create people with great knowledge. For Example:- If we take a university where all students who became CEO's after graduating represent State/Country in which they studied and the institutions gain fame such that many people will look up to it and it increases nation's greatness in a way.

If we do not have anyone who makes us unique or different from the rest we cannot compare ourselves with rest of the world, If we take artists we know that Leonardo Da Vinci from portugese makes us to say that Portugal people are great when it comes to paintings because of his one and only masterpiece THE Monalisa Painting. We can say that the people who represent us makes our nation great, if we take Mahatma Gandhi in our case he is the one who made peace protests unlike any other and contributed a lot to bringing freedom to India because many believe in him and joined him which made our countries protests unique to others and irrefutable.

There are some who refute the statement saying general welfare of the people is greatness itself, I disagree this because even if general welfare of a nation is great, we can say they have a good lifestyle, they have great people, good working population but they cannot distinguish how great they are if there were not many artists, scientists who show its fame to the whole world. The welfare can be easily achieved of the nation's leader is distinguished, influential and want to bring welfare to the country but the reverse is not possible, it is because general welfare need not always mean great rulers, scientists as they mainly comes hard background. For Example, Late Queen Elizabeth II who is influential and her existence is what increases the the value of the nation Great Britain as said by many people.

To conclude, we can say from the above reasons and conclusions we can say that the nation is great with the rulers, scientists, artists achievements mainly rather than general welfare which only makes a part of its greatness. So, greatness is achieved through people who distinguish themselves in world stage representing the nation.