Some people claim that you can tell whether a nation is great by looking at the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. Others argue that the surest indicator of a great nation is, in fact, the general welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

There is always a debate about the exact indicators of measuring the greatness of nation. One might rightfully claim that it is the achievements of its ruler, artist or scientist while it is also true that welfare and proper status of people of a nation reflects its success as a great nation. However in my opinion there should be a balance between the two criteria stated above for a nation to be prominent and great.

Admittedly, anyone can assert that a nation is great because of its great artist, scientist, and the achievements of its ruler. But greatness is not something that can be described through some mere achievement rather it is a broad term that incorporates many aspects of people and society also. Only the greatness of some particular people is not sufficient to determine the virtue of greatness. For example, USSR, once communist nation full of academic and literary prodigies along with some great leaders in history had fallen apart because they were not able to meet the public demands and were hardly capable of maintain public welfare. Their atom bombs, gigantic warships, poets were unable to consolidate the nation as a whole. Therefore it should be maintain that only the achievements of some people hardly denote greatness.

Similarly, the overall welfare of all the citizens of a nation alone cannot define the greatness of a state. For instance, the Nordic countries, in terms of citizens’ welfare this countries are always on top. They always maintain the public demands accordingly and overall the citizens are happy with their country. However, this cannot define their greatness because they lack any political legacy that has a drastic effect on the world as a whole. There are no such examples which can tell us that this country has brought some revolutionary change in world politics or has induced a new way of life in the world, which are the components of determining greatness.

However, the combination of the above criteria must reflect the greatness of a nation. For instance, the USA, and UK, both the countries are both full of polymaths and prodigies in all spheres of knowledge. The countries are the home of numerous great scientists, artists, and politicians such as Newton, Picasso, and J.F Kennedy. While they landed on the moon, they also spread their political ideology all over the world. Thus influencing the world both in a political and scientific way. Their massive economy and prudent leadership of their ruler ensure the equity among the people of their country and there is hardly any discrimination among the people. Basically, these countries fully filled all the criteria of being great and, indeed, they are great.

To sum up, one of the mentioned criteria may present any country as good or better to live but any single of them alone surely is not sufficient to determine greatness rather it is the presence of both of the criteria that makes a nation great.