Sports stars and movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Here, famous people are expected to behave outstandingly in exchange for the obscene amounts of money they make because they are seen and admired by many. however, it is a fallacy to believe that the famous have an obligation to be "good" people. Firstly, it is important to remember that the famous are people too, not just consumable media. they, like many other have their own ambitions and trials. Secondly, the famous are not paid to act in any certain manner. they are paid for their services as television personas or sports figures. Lastly, it is preposterous to assume that everyone else in children's lives are behaving as well.

To begin, many people believe celebrities to be larger than life. they are widely looked up to for both advice and inspiration, but it is important to remember that celebrities are people too. they, like everyone else, have areas where they excel and areas where they struggle. To expect them to maintain a role model facade for their entire lives is placing too high of a burden on them. For example, in 2007 Brittany spears had a public breakdown and shaved her head. many people laughed at her or chalked her mental health episode up to drug abuse. however, spears herself stated that the pressure of living as a celebrity impacted her mental health so severely that she acted out in pain and defiance. she, like anyone else, deserves to be heard and respected in trying times and should not be required to constantly put o a brave front for the sake of others.

Additionally, although famous people are paid large sums of money, they are not paid to be role models per se. it is ridiculous to think that the public is owed anything from their services that is not explicitly in their contract as an artist, filmmaker, or sports figure. like all other professions and even non-professionals, these people are paid for the services they provide to their viewers. A carpenter, for example, would not be expected to be able to fix leaky pipes or kitchen appliances: it is not in their skill set and even if it were, they would need to be paid for their work in these areas. Also, regular people are not paid to work in their time off, so why should celebrities?

Finally, if the argument that celebrities must constantly be role models is made, it would only be fair to argue that everyone, regardless of their income or popularity, should act as a role model as well. Sadly, it is a given that not everyone in a child's life will be willing or able to model correct modes of behavior. A child's own parents, for example, may not exhibit child-appropriate behavior. they make smoke cigarettes, which are known to cause cancer and other life-long detriments, drink excessively, or act unkind to others. holding a celebrity at a standard that people often do not hold themselves to is hypocritical and unjust. One might argue that everyone is, in fact, held to high standers of proper behavior, but that is simply not the case. if everyone were an upstanding citizen, as they were expected to be, then there would be no need for law enforcement, as police exist to deter and detain people that wish to do others harm.

Ultimately, celebrities are not obligated to be upstanding citizens. they, like everyone else, deserve to be able to be vulnerable and to make wrong decisions every once in a while, especially since they are not being paid to act as role models. Additionally, they should not be held to standards that regular people would not be able to meet either.