All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Both hiring a consultant and only listening to employees have their drawbacks. The best way to gain more efficiency while increasing employee satisfaction is to use both employee feedback and the expertise of the consultant.

Consultants are a popular choice for managers and business owners when searching for a way to improve their company's morale and yield better labor results. They have obviously been trained for many of the situations they will encounter in a company setting. As such, they are able to provide solutions to the problems that both parties bring to the table. Additionally, they are able to come to the business with an unclouded perspective; something that neither employers of employees would be able to do, since they both have a stake in the outcome of the company. However, it may also be true that consultants provide solutions that cater to the employer, as the consultants are ultimately receiving money for their services from the owner of the company or business. Overall, consultants provide expertise and new perspectives, albeit at the cost of the employees' wellbeing.

On the other hand, employees are often able to tell when something at work is off, if they are not being treated well, or if they are not being as productive as they feel they could be. As many great scholars have noted: under the right conditions, people enjoy working and can even become more productive. With this in mind, it is important to consider the employees' perspective in this matter. Any number of things could be making their work life difficult, some of which could be at the hands of the employer. Although employers try their best to make the workplace run efficiently, there are some things they just cannot understand about the work preferences of their employees without being in their shoes. However, there are some employees who would rather laze around than work and will keep pressuring their employer to give them less and less work. Because of this, it may be difficult for employers to completely trust what their employees are saying.

While listening to only one of the two groups has its drawbacks, it seems it would be best to combine the opinions of the employee and the knowledge of the consultant to make the most effective plan to increase workplace efficiency. Holding focus groups where the consultant influences and directs the opinions of the employees would produce the best results for both employers and employees. In this way, employee needs are heard and validated, while consultants ise their expertise to create a plan in which the employer still benefits. Through cooperation, new heights could be reached.

Ultimately, no single option can provide the best results. Undoubtedly, companies could cut out consultants and listen to the employee needs themselves. However, by bringing in a consultant, they would be able to focus the concerns of the employees and fine-tune their operation.