Strong beliefs prevent people from thinking clearly about issues.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

From an accurate analysis of the contemporaneous society in which we live, one may assert that individuals are more reluctant to listen to others’ opinion, sticking to their beliefs. However, the claim results too extreme to be extended on the entirety of humanity and thus it should be rejected.

The reasoning assumes that each person is equal in the way in which he thinks about issues. This sounds contradictory as human thought differs for several aspects, such as the personality, customs and tradition of the social environment. For example, in the scientific community, it is common practice to change the view that has been held for decades or even centuries when a new breakthrough is presented. Even if, at first, the innovation may be undermined by obstructionism, due to the wrong behavior of some individuals, at the end it is accepted by the totality of connoisseurs. The evolution of Economics is characterized by the interchange of theories which are - for most of the case - incompatible. When the “General theory” of J.M. Keynes was written at the end of 1930s, Marginalist economists disproved it as it challenged the theory of the general equilibrium. Nevertheless, mainstream economists started to study Keynes’ new ideas, accepting their validity and, successively, giving birth to the Neoclassical syntheses. This example can be applied in each scientific field where the main purpose of scientist is to find the truth. Therefore, among the population, the scientific community has always been able to doubt its strong believes, adapting to novel views.

In addition, not only the peculiarities of a person - or a group - have to be considered, but also the typology of the belief, namely, whether it pursues right ideals, which its realization may change the status quo, enhancing the quality of human beings. Looking at history, it is possible to find different examples that weaken the postulated assumption. Martin L. King is well known for his strenuous fight against white supremacy in United States, seeking to achieve equal rights for the black community. M. Gandhi devoted his entire life to the philosophy of the non-violence, promoting peace and diplomacy as solution to every conflict. These two insightful figures persevered their strong ideas until death, since their highest dream was to change in better the lives of people. Nobody would have the audacity to assert that their ability to think was damaged by strong beliefs. On the contrary, someone would say that thanks to these, they resisted to threats and persecutions until they were able to breathe.

Moreover, a counterargument may rely on the idea that masses are easy to persuade and thus to implant wrongful beliefs, clouding their capability of thinking clearly. For instance, during the Nazism and Fascism era, individuals overall were fully convinced of the ideal promoted by the extremist political movements. Accordingly, the were fascinated and euphoric by the idea of nationalism and race supremacy enough to accept daily social discriminations and mass murder. Racist laws, introduced by Italy and then Germany between 1920-1930, and the construction of concentration camps are compelling evidences of the main idea behind the claim. Notwithstanding, there were people who were not obfuscated by these idealisms and that were still capable to think lucidly about the consequences of an authoritarian regime. Actually, thanks to these heroes, as they opposed energetically against them, sacrificing their own lives, fascists countries were liberated, boosting up the establishment of democracy in Europe. Hence, following their believes, they were able to save millions of individuals.

To conclude, the statement cannot be sustained as it assumes an extremist viewpoint. The ability to not be clouded by own beliefs depends on the person and the ideals that these pursue. In the history of human, it is possible to find some examples that would concur with the claim, but in the majority of the cases, the former reveals misleading.