Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore any the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author affirms that the reduction of viewers and advertising revenues is strictly related to the changes made during the past year, which have given more space to national news in the face of a reduction in the time allocated for weather and local news. However, the reasoning leading to the conclusion may be affected by inchoate assumptions.

First of all, the fact that the television station has received complaints on the coverage of weather and local news does not imply that those are referred to the lower time given to the two points of the agenda. Actually, the writer does not specify the matter of the complaint. For instance, television audience could have complained the quality of the program instead of its time allocation. In addition, the decision of local business to cancel advertising contracts may be linked to external factors, independent from the station's new policy. Assuming a context of crisis, small companies may save financial resources in order to reduce the probability of default. This helps to explain the choice of cutting on advertising expenses.

Moreover, it is not clear how much the plunge of viewers and advertising revenues will affect profits of the television station. This is since no quantification is exhibited in the reasoning of the author. If the amount of total complaints is not relevant, then the management should not worry about the impact of the discontent on the station's profitability. Following the same reasoning, if the station has lost revenues from local businesses but augmented those from national or international companies - as a consequence of the higher time devoted to national news - then it would be not necessary to restore the old policy.

In addition, future is characterised by uncertainty. This means that it is not sure whether the station will be able to attract more viewers and augment the advertising revenues by just restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to previous levels. This may occur as a result of an environment that has changed between the last year. For instance, if local businesses defaulted or stipulated advertising contracts with other news stations, then even with the reinstatement the company would not experience an increment in advertising revenues. Also, people’s preferences may have changed, demanding a new form of information disclosure. Thus, the decision to conduct the news as previous may not be effective on the number of viewers.

To conclude, it is possible to find several flaws in the author’s argumentation which weakens the final claim. However, in order to strength his position, the writer should report more convincing evidence on the correlation of the complaints and the cancellation of advertising contracts with the new station’s policy. Then, the impact of the latter on profits should be quantified painstakingly and future uncertainty should be taken into account.