"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The conclusion of the argument proposed by the writer of the letter results to be affected by unjustified assumptions. In addition, the reasoning on which is based the final statement seems to be not well-organised and inconsistent, as it is possible to detect a troubled analogy and the total absence of quantitative proofs.

Analysing the last two sentences, the author is assuming indirectly that commuters - which ride on Blue Highway - would start to commute by bike if a bicycle lane was added to the road. Whether or not the majority of area residents are keen bicyclists, it does not imply that they would use this mean to commute to work, if there was the possibility. An assumption that could confirm this assertion regards the fact that the length of the Blue Highway is too large to allow workers to arrive at the office in time by bicycle. Moreover, even though it is supported the idea of the writer, is it assured that rush-hour traffic would decrease? Actually, adding an extra lane for bicycle could just change the type of traffic, namely, those generated by four-wheels vehicles could reduce, but that one of two-wheels vehicles may increase, leaving unchanged the number of commuters on the Blue Highway.

Furthermore, not only the conclusion does not sound well-founded but also the logical thought preceding it results incoherent. The example of the Green Highway reported by the author cannot be utilised to strengthen the argument as it is not comparable with the Blue Highway. Accordingly, the author does not provide sufficient information which can proof a strong correlation between the two roads, other than the fact these are located in the same area. However, even if it is assumed the second highway as good comparable, it remains another issue. The writer is certain that the traffic augmentation was caused by the expansion of the street. Notwithstanding, this event could be explained by an alternate cause. For example, it is acceptable to think that in the last year has been built a new mall near one of the exits of Green Highway, which has contributed to rise the traffic on that road.

Moreover, the author never makes use of quantifications to underpin his opinion. Actually, it is unknown the number of compliances by commuters and the average commute time before and after the growth of rush-hour traffic. Also, it is not clear quantitatively the “worsening of the traffic jams” generated in Green Highway and the expression “many area residents” does not give to the reader a proper idea on the amount of bike lovers.

Summing up, the main conclusion of the author results poorly supported by his reasoning. Nevertheless, in order to enhance his position, he should add more statistics on commuters and residential bicyclists, explain why the Green Highway’s example is a good fit and report explanations that make seems reasonable commuting by bike.