Student should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

In the school, teachers will teach students according to textbook and their own understanding regarding to the knowledge, which most of the students will follow the teachers’ teaching schedule to learn, this is the most common way of learning around the globe. However, is that students should accept 100% content that the teacher told them, should the student always question on what they have learnt, the answer should be yes.

First of all, both the textbook and the teacher’s own understanding may not be 100% correct, even if the textbook has been modified for several versions and the teacher has rich experiences. Theories and knowledge in a field are always developing, there are new findings and corrections being introduced everyday, thus, students should be able to challenging on what they have been learned, especially considering that the teacher might make mistakes on the teaching activities. This challenging mind allows the student to think critically, which is significant for their future development.

In addition, question on what the student have learned usually leads to discussion between multiple students or between student and the teacher, such discussion is a process for them to exchange their own ideas and thoughts over the knowledge. Exchanging ideas is always a process that helps to learn a concept in depth, even if the class-taught theory is proved to be correct, the discussion can still enhance the understanding significantly for those who joined. However, some students may choose to do individual research on the content instead of discussion or seeking for help, this is also a good practice which enhance the student’s self-studying skills.

However, some people may claim that in common practices, at least 95% of the content taught in school can be guaranteed to be correct, this kind of question on the knowledge is a waste of time, student may use such time to do other activities that significant for their personal development. In my opinion, it is true that most of the content taught is correct, but, if the student just passively receiving the knowledge, they might get used to admit everything that they received from others, they lose the ability to think. Individual thinking is essential for one’s personal development. The time that students spend on discussing, debating or researching over their ‘doubt’ on the knowledge is the best way to train their individual thinking ability and critical thinking ability. Question on existing knowledge can lead to the development on the theories, for instance, because there are people willing to question on the theories and do individual research, the universe model is changed from Earth-centred to Sun-centred, which further proved that question is always necessary during the learning.

In conclusion, though we can say passive receiving the knowledge is the easiest and most common way of learning, student should still preserve their thoughts on questioning on what they have been taught.