Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear

Government funding is the most important financial support for most of the research projects in the world, and these research projects are providing continuous innovations to our world. However, for research in any field, there must be a clear consequence that can be predicted before it starts.

From the government side, it is their necessary to make sure the research is controllable before they grant the fundings. The government has the responsibility to protect the citizens and make sure the society is stable, thus, any research that has unclear consequences should be forced to abort or should not be funded, since the consequence might be harmful to the citizens or the society. For instance, the if there is no theory support that the production of a substance is stable and no toxic gas could generate, the production shouldn’t be funded since the consequence is controversial to the government’s responsibility. For other research, if there is no theory foundations suggest that the research can be controlled, these research should not be funded.

On the other hand, government fundings to the scientific research is part of the government finance, which the finance is limited and need to be distributed wisely to the society. If the consequence of a research cannot be identified, the funding might be wasted, thus, before the government funding any research projects, it is necessary to examine its possible output. The massive fundings to the research that has no clear consequences can lead to the possible unbalance of government finance usage, which might further occupies the finance portion of other urgent need fields such as public health or education.

However, some people may argues that government’s actions can be considered as a violation of academic freedom, researchers should have all the rights to research freely, and the open research environment can significantly promote the innovations. It is widely admitted that all government should preserve academic freedom and boost the innovations, however, the freedom of research should be bound by ethics and humanity. Any research that can lead to the consequences that is no-ethic or against humanity should not be commenced. And the government is the only party that has the power to terminate such research activities. Thus, it is necessary for the government to examine whether there is theory basis that can prove there is no non-ethic and anti-humanity consequences from the research before they grant any kind of permissions or fundings.

In conclusion, the government should not fund any research projects that has no clear consequences since it might result to multiple issues, which eventually harmful to the society.