“Students should fund their education with part-time work that they do while they study.”

Students and part-time job share a controversial relation. There has been a debate among many educationists. If I were to choose between a part-time job and studies, there would be many areas I would like to research before coming to a conclusion. Practically speaking, there are equally weighted pros and cons on this issue.

Firstly, speaking of pros—students can gain practical knowledge, they may have some sort of stable income to meet their expenses for food, clothes and so on, it may increase self - confidence, it helps them to adjust in the corporate working style before in hand which helps them in performing their duties after graduation, it may increase their contacts in their fields to get growth in their career faster, they may acquire time management skills, they may also know to invest in right place. Speaking of foreign students, they can do part-time jobs in their universities itself which may help them in managing their coursework and job both.

Secondly, if we look at the cons in doing part-time jobs—there will be no job security, there will be no other allowances as in case of full-time jobs including health insurance, vacation time and paid holidays. Moreover there may be health related issues due to lack of sleep, there may be exhaustion, and there may be the thoughts of leaving college in case earning money is very important.

Thus, balancing both studies and job is important if one choose to do part-time job while studying. Though there are benefits doing a part-time job, the final decision should be of the student himself or herself. There should not be any compulsion on them to do part-time jobs and in this respect I disagree with the statement given. But, I do support people who are willing to do part-time jobs only when they are really interested in doing it.