Studying foodways- what foods people eat and how they produce, acquire, prepare, and consume them-is

the best way to gain deep understanding of a culture.

The statement claims that the best way to a deep understanding of a culture is by studying their food ways. I partially agree with the statement, as I do believe that food and its culinary aspects is an integral part to one’s culture, and therefore provides great insight regarding that culture. However, I do not believe that it helps us gain a deep and holistic understanding of culture, as culture is developed by various factors outside of cuisine.

Food is a key factor to one’s culture. The cuisine of a community is typically influenced by historical values, professions and resources. For example, potatoes and bread are said to be an essential part of many European cultures, such as that of the Irish, due to severe famine that occurred during times unfavorable for the harvesting of other crops and vegetables. Similarly, widespread of spices on a global scale is largely due to the marine Spice Trade from India during the British Colonial era.

With that said, it is important to recognize that culture is built by multiple pillars of fields and interests. Outside of food, literature, handicrafts, military powers, prominent jobs and industries of a community influences its culture. For example, India’s culture of vast color and textiles can be attributed to the historical prominence of the textile industry, along with the expansion of indigo and cotton plantations. The country’s cultural history can also be explored through its diverse artifacts and ancient texts that tell the stories of heritage and valor. The culmination of proof of historical events is a key reason why many Indians take pride in their people and culture, which are provided by elements outside of food. Lastly, the United States’ culture that focuses on individuality and freedom has been influenced by its political history of its fight for Independence (leading to the First Amendment- Right to Arms), along with the abolition of slavery. All of these examples indicate that the culture of a nation has been influenced by aspects such as the arts, politics, along with agriculture and labor.

While it is important to study the food ways of a community, it is important to study other fields of interest of the community as well. Neglecting to study the mentioned aspects of a culture and beyond is a poor attempt of examining of anthropology. Therefore, incorporating a holistic field of study of a community is essential to developing a broad and deep understanding of its culture.