Studying foodways what foods people eat and how they produce acquire prepare and consume them is the best way to gain deep understanding of a culture

In this modern era, were people of our country have forgotten the culture and tradition. They were habituated to modern lifestyle and assume that the culture, which was followed prior, was outlandish. However, knowing our culture being in a country where people cannot leave without ethics and moral values is must. Therefore, when we look closer into the given argument, it is not sufficient to know only about what food people eat, how they prepare, or how they cultivate but should know how our moral culture works in every aspect.

Knowing about how people eat, what they eat does not define our culture. For instance, people who have studied masters in other foreign country might come to his own motherland and the food types he follows might have changed. This does not mean that the person have forgotten the culture or it does not mean that he have no understanding of our culture. Sometimes people need to adjust to their surroundings and behave according to that.

Our country has approximately 28 states were people of each state follow a different tradition of food type. For example, people of Andhra and Telangana would be preferred to eat rice. People of Rajasthan will mostly be eating chapatti and some other state people would like to eat combination of rice and tortilla. So based on the state, based on the people living and based on the culture they follow the food type changes and which does not mean that the people have no knowledge about culture. It is there climate, which decides which crop to grow more.

When we consider a scenario were people from one country migrate to other country for making money. In the condition they might not follow the culture where they have recently shifted instead they follow their own tradition and habits which is not appropriate to say that they are not respecting the country where they are living. We might sometime have a deep understanding of culture by knowing the food ways but having different food styles, followed by different people will be difficult to know the better understanding of our culture.

At the last, society who wants to have deep understanding of culture should consider every aspect, which involves food, clothing, language, ethical values. Simply studying food ways is not sufficient to have deep understanding of culture. To have knowledge about their culture one can also know from their prior generations, which helps them to understand them better.