The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.

In a democratic nation, people are the most valuable asset. Every single decision taken by the statesman has to be for the ultimate well being of the people. So I do agree to the given statement.

A country’s future is molded by its citizens; they are the driving force for the all-round development of a country. Rulers put forth the ideologies and set the path of a definite future of a country, but it is the citizens who implement those ideologies at the grass root levels. Scientists develop new ideas by carrying out rigorous research, but of course conceptualization of those ideas needs huge workforce, i.e., the mass people of the nation. Similarly, artists record the ideas of past and contemporary cultures of the society through their paintings, sculptures. But again artists can not work in isolation, since they can only thrive if there are true admirers or followers of their works, and again these followers of art work are none but the people of the country.

People yield crops in the field to make the nation self-sufficient in food, runs industries through their intellectual and physical labors, performs businesses to help prosper the country in manufacturing, agriculture and businesses thereby raising the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of the country. The country becomes a growing economy only because of the talents and hard work of its people. If the people of a country are truly prosperous, then banks will survive and investment of money in banking sector keeps rolling thereby making the economy flourish. Under such circumstances, it becomes a win-win situation for both the rulers and people.

In the defense sector also, it is the people of the country, who joins the armed forces to keep the borders of our country safe and secured from foes. Defense research also requires scientists and engineers, who are none but the common citizens. If the citizens are not well-nurtured, the country can not find suitable hires for defense research and good soldiers. So the country’s sovereignty will be at stake.

It’s the people of the country who becomes athletes to represent their country in various international platforms like Olympic games, Commonwealth events etc and make the country proud. Also, when a country represents itself in international forums like UN, it’s its diplomats who provide their valuable insights to the World Order; and it is the people of a nation who becomes a future diplomat. Also in a democratic society, people choose their leaders. If the people are not well informed and properly educated, they can’t choose a right leader for them. Also today’s children will become the future leaders.

Nations which respect the all-round development of its citizens are the ones which are most prosperous like the two biggest democracies in the world, India and USA. But, on the other hand, if we look at North Korea, its tyrannic leader and its party may seem glamorous and also it’s scientists might be making destructive missiles and nuclear warheads, but its citizens suffer from starvation, malnutrition, lack of proper education, health-care etc. So such an oppressive regime can never succeed in the long-run. History has taught us this lesson several times.

So, to conclude, we can infer that although the achievements of rulers, scientists and intellectual minds are useful, but it is the ultimate well-being of the people of a nation that makes a country truly prosper in all terms.