The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Change is the rule of the world. In order to strive, we need to adopt ourselves to the changing trends of our society. Human beings can not survive in isolation. We are always judged on a socially accepted spectrum and we need constant feedback from our fellow members to go ahead in our life.

Youth are the primary driving force of the society and they define a society’s future. In today’s world, owing to high-speed internet, more computer-savvy youth are being exposed to the trending art, technology, fashion, movies and varied culture currently prevailing all around the globe. Being in growing age, they get attracted to these very fast and try to adopt such culture and fashion in their day-to-day activities. On the contrary, barring a few exceptional cases, most middle-aged and old people, are not very much interested in adopting trending cultures, since they want to keep themselves tied in beliefs and customs of their times. Of course, there is peer pressure at all levels in our society. A middle-aged individual will try to retain their favourable old fashion and culture in their circles, while a college going youth will try to update his/her beliefs in accordance to their peer-circles.

But, we must understand that youths have a tendency to adopt things without sufficient judgement because of their surface-level knowledge in many issues. Also all old beliefs and cultures and not bad of course. Showing due respect to elderly, upholding society’s religious traditions and ideologies of great personalities, respecting teachers and professors are some traits which should be kept alive at any cost. Such traits have made us what we are today and also bind us as a society.

On the other hand, there are some good contemporary cultures that are really great to adopt and we should learn those from our youth. Modern ideas of gender equality, feminism, equal rights to homosexuals, religious tolerance and disregarding caste system from the society are being adopted by matured youths of today and it is indeed a good sign for a healthy upbringing of any society. Today’s youth are open-minded. So we should follow those young people who accures the right aptitude to selectively adopt the best contemporary ideas and use them for the benefit of our society at large without unnecessarily criticizing them.

In any case, elderly class of any society should let their young generation to explore everything open-mindedly from around the world and accept standards of modern culture without forgetting their old traditions. But any restriction imposed in the thought process of youth can be notoriously devastating. Let’s see an example of North Korea for instance. We can not figure out the trending lifestyles from North Korean young people because of their highly oppressive restrictive regime. Such youths only follows the tradition of their Father of nation and thereby cut out from the rest of the world. This is indeed the destruction of the humongous potentials of the youth of that country. You definitely can not have a picture of contemporary traditions from them.

So we can conclude that it is important to encourage our youth to follow contemporary traditions without forgetting our old moral values.