The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.

I remember being astounded when I saw a video on how Norwegian prisons work because it focused on how their goal was to rehabilitate the incarcerated instead of punishing them. It’s not a revolutionary concept but clearly not a much followed one. A google search later showed how Norway and other Scandinavian countries had the highest rates of happiness and satisfaction among their citizens. On the other hand, USA - the self proclaimed best nation in the world, not only has the highest number of people incarcerated in the world but also only ranks average on the global happiness index. This prompt suggests that the general well being of its people is the best way to measure how great a country is and not a couple of exemplary achievements of few of its citizens. What makes a nation great is subjective of course. However I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that countries and governments should focus more on how to look after its people best instead of using achievements to prove how great it is for several reasons.

A nation is a good one where the people are happy to be staying there, their interests are being taken care of and needs are being met. It’s not misplaced patriotism about a country’s achievement which will help in times of need but other factors like what steps a nation is taking to alleviate the problems of the citizens. For instance, South Korea has reached worldwide popularity for it’s K-pop industry. K-pop consists of a plethora of young talented artists who perform immensely difficult song and dance routines, release music videos and right now have a highly growing fanbase. This industry brings in enormous profits for the Korean government and has placed the country centerstage in terms of achievements of musical artists. However the backstage view of this nation is not so rosy. Artists here hardly have any freedom, have to keep to back breaking schedules to keep on raking in profits and every step they take is scrutinized by the paparazzi. Not to mention, the whole system here is extremely competitive and puts enormous mental stress not only on the perfomants but also on young students and college goers to succeed and be the best. There is an extremely high suicide rate among teenages in South Korea, which is not something to be boasted about. The above example illustrates that the achievements of a nation is not a true bar of whether it’s a good place to reside. In my opinion, a country which capitalizes on it’s citizens for its own profits and image without paying heed to their well being can hardly be a good nation, let alone a great one.

Furthermore, a nation also becomes great where it is somewhere the citizens can reach their true potential. There are ample ways for the people to follow their goals and aspirations without having to put in inhumane labour. Besides its going to be these people only, passionate about what they want to do who can make amazing achievements in their fields and help making progress for the betterment of the nation. For example, India has a large number of state of the art engineering and medical colleges. Every year, lakhs of students compete to get seats there and receive the best education to pursue their interests. The goal originally was that it will be these graduates who are going work to solve the countless problems of the country created in the wake of colonization. The statistics however show how a large number of these graduates leave the country for much better prospects abroad - a phenomenon called ‘brain drain’. Due to immense competition, lack of good research and/or work environments a lot of people leave the country as soon as they can. Instead of berating these people for lack of patriotism, a deeper look shows that the problem is not with the educated citizens but a systemic failure of the nation to provide for them. Consequently even though the citizens go on to make amazing achievements in their fields abroad later on, it is not an accurate representation of the greatness of the nation but a rather bleak look at how it failed them.

There can be a counterpoint that if a nation is consequently making achievements it must be doing something right. However if these achievements are not making the lifes of its residents easier or improving the state of the country in general, it makes them just for show. A nation which ignores the well being of its people for the sake of making headlines in the newspaper does so at its own peril.