The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

If only the nations were measured based on the achievement and accolades, the country with most golds in Olympics would be the greatest nation. Probably the nation with most successful attempts of sending rockets into that huge black wondrous space would take a stance against the most medal winning nation to be crowned the greatest. Probably there would be another world war. I believe the authors claim is very much valid and I strongly agree with the statements as the yardsticks to measure the nations greatness cannot be based on the achievements of the nation on a global scale but it should be focused on the inner wellbeing of the citizens and legible measure like Happiness Index or number of Welfare schemes should be considered.

To being with, it is quite important to note that a nation is a huge base of varied cultures, castes, religions, people and believes. There are wealthy and poor, healthy and weak, Strong and fragile, lucky and unlucky and so a conclusion cannot be made on the achievements of the capable personalities. A right estimate can be made by look at the picture of latter. For Instance, a child in the public hospital dies due to dearth facilities and at the very moment another incredulous incident takes place i.e. XYZ missile is successfully launched into the space, making the whole nation proud, will this Quality the country to be the greatest? It is indeed true that a lot of the nation must be celebrating this win, but the huge misery is left unnoticed. I thus strongly believe the happy faces in the country give us the true picture of the country’s greatness.

Now let us consider the Rulers of the nation. Say the great Dam project has been initiated under the hands of Mr X a politician. Does this achievement of his make the nation any better if construction of such project only leads many people living in such ares to vacate? Does this achievement mean the country is great when these homeless people are being treated wrong ? It is very much inappropriate to consider that the achievements of rulers shall count for the country’s greatness.

However, a stance maybe taken that the great achievements in sports or science, or an orderly ruling of the country is not possible without such meritorious trainings and facilities that only a capable nation can equip. Like, P. V. Sindhu could never have been the world champion if the country had no infrastructure of facilities to train her. If she has such good facilities to be trained, then she’s living in a great country. In this regard, such claim could be true but as already mentioned above, a country is a mixture of varied living conditions and if people living do not have the basic amenities to live, then there is no way saying the country is great basis its achievements.

It is thus pertinent to conclude that Achievements and accolades are not the right indicators of greatness, but the measure of happiness and satisfaction that the people have is what truly indicates greatness.