To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

A particular favourite of mine among online websites is reddit. What’s different about reddit from its more famous online counterparts(like facebook) is how instead of following friends, one can follow and join communities instead. Like minded individuals come together and share opinions about common interests in one space. Difference of opinion exists obviously, and thus there are subreddits which are simply polar opposites of each other. A lot of ‘communist’ subreddits look upon Stalin as their savior, a great man and leader who did nothing wrong. More ‘liberal’ subreddits argue that he was genocidal maniac who killed billions. Was Stalin an effective leader? Most people despite their political affiliations will say yes. If his ethical and moral standards were high enough is however a more complicated question to answer in the binary. The given prompt says to be effective in leadership, public figures must keep to the highest standards of ethical and moral standards. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this extreme statement primarily due to two reasons.

What makes a leader effective? Charisma, yes; being good with words, also yes but mostly the ability to rally people around a common cause. A sense of an end goal would then permit these twisted leaders to get away with heinous atrocities because after all “the ends justify the means”. An infamous example of this would be Hitler. He started with infusing Germany with inflated nationalism, and then made people surreptitiously and slowly believe that it was Jews who were every thing that was wrong with their country. Later on when the concentration camps began, it was only a small population that protested. Resistance was quickly shut down. A more contemporary example would include the current prime minister of India, Narendra Modi. This time too, it is by creating a false sense of superiority of Hinduism among the hindu majority country. He tried to implement an inhumane policy which would deprive lakhs of people of their citizenship - who would then have to stay in camps or be deported back to Bangladesh. Sounds horrifying and familiar doesn’t it? The scariest part is how it was met with widespread support throughout the country. These examples prove how easy it is to overlook even sensible moral and ethical obligations when someone is under the sway of a powerful leader. It’s easy to cloud judgements especially in today’s world of digital media algorithms actively changing and shifting public opinions. Charm and a sense of oneness can make anyone overlook any ethical and moral obligations which might rise up. After all, it is always easier to follow the herd.

Ethics and morality is a complicated topic. What might be ethical to someone might be immoral to someone else. Of course, activities like murder and genocide will always remain a horrible no-no. It is the myriad of other things which makes ethics come in all shades of grey. Ideally I would love to live in a world where the leaders maintain highest standards of morality and ethics. But being a leader also includes having the support of a lot of people, people with diverse opinions. Compromise is necessary at every step. Let’s take for example Gandhi - a prominent figure in the Indian Freedom Movement. He had done much for the freedom struggle from organising the quit india movement to the dandi march. Was all he did good though? There are a lot of other examples where Gandhi was seen supporting the caste system in India, and he actively was against Dalit integration schemes suggested by B. R. Ambedkar. A large reason behind this was to keep getting the popular support of the indian masses, most of whom supported the system. Is this adhering to the highest standards of ethics? No. Caste system is an oppressive system which continues to ruin and systemically make the lives of millions of indians so much worse. Is he being a shrewd leader? Unfortunately, yes. Leaders are people too. They have to make tough choices - sometimes absolutely ethical, sometimes not. Leaders striving to be moral is a good practise but is hard to stick to. Compromise is a way more important tool in leading effectively.

One could argue that not pushing leaders towards highest standards of ethics and morality would be a misuse of their powers. They have the power to influence masses, and a wrong word on their part could make or break the lives of others. However we have too many examples of leaders from history who was tyrannical, diabolical dictators but had enormous mass support. History is not kind to them but that does not lessen their leadership skills. In fact it's a testimony to how effective of a leader they were, instead.