Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Starting from the age of 6 in grade 1 of K-12 education (in the United States), students and teachers have an ongoing relationship based on the student’s academic performance. This relationship is based on the foundation of teachers providing students grades in some paradigm. This paradigm can include grades such as A-F letter grades, pass/fail, percentages, and so forth. However, the notion that a teacher’s salary should be commensurate with their student’s academic performance is highly suspect. I believe a teacher’s salary should not be dependent on their students’ academic performance. I will next outline three of the reasons why I believe this should not be the case.

To begin, teachers work with students coming from a wide variety of socioeconomic backgrounds. For example, in a poorer public school district, a teacher might be in charge of instructing multiple socioeconomically disadvantaged students throughout most of their K-12 education. Within the framework of teachers’ salaries being based on students’ academic performance within a county, it is hasty to reward a teacher from a more affluent area more than a teacher from a poorer area. Students from the poorer area are more than likely to not perform as highly on a standardized academic level compared to their richer counterparts.

Furthermore, it is not always a teacher’s choosing with regards to which location they will teach in. These assignments are often made by another concerned party, leaving a teacher’s salary dependent on the current job openings at the time of their application and the caliber of students in the region they will teach. This idea illustrates how unfair it is to have a teacher’s salary be dependent on their students’ academic performance.

Thirdly, the mark of a ‘good’ teacher cannot always be adequately judged by the academic successes of their students. Particularly in K-12 education, where much of the students prefrontal cortexes are not even close to being fully developed, focusing on arcane academic subjects provides little immediate value, thus their objective academic performance suffers. Teachers should not be penalized for this normal physiologic developmental process that all humans share during this timeline. It is possible that the more important things being taught to these students are positive humanistic traits and morality judgments that they will utilize for the rest of their lives, yet the teacher will never be monetarily rewarded these concepts under this paradigm.

In conclusion, basing a teacher’s salary on their students’ academic performance is an inherently bad idea. Suppose this paradigm was utilized and it was found that teachers from the most affluent areas of the county were earning the most money. There would clearly be a discriminatory link between different socioeconomic levels and monetary reward of teachers. Thus, teachers’ salaries should remain constant throughout the county and not be based on the academic performance of their students.