The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries recommends installing software to detect employees’ Internet use on company computers. He/she believes this will prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve overall profits. This is based on the premise that employees need to reduce the number of hours spent on personal or recreational activities while using the internet from their workstations. However, there are some assumptions that must be proven true in order for this argument to be fully evaluated.

First of all, the vice president of human resources makes the assumption that the employees who spend the most time using the internet at their workstation for personal or recreational activities contribute the least to the company. It is possible though that these are in fact the best employees at Climpson Industries due to the work being so easy for them, they finish it with time to spare to use the internet at their own leisure. In congruence with this idea, it could be that the employees who strictly use the internet at their workstations for company related tasks are struggling with their assignments and contributing less to Climpson Industries profit margins overall. If either of these scenarios are deemed factual, the recommendation made to the president by human resources would be highly downgraded.

Secondly, the vice president of human resources bases his/her conclusion on the assumption that punishing employees who use the internet for personal or recreational activities is an effective tool for increased productivity and company morale. However, what if employees grimace at the notion of being constantly monitored while using the internet work, and thus begin to dislike working for Climpson Industries. If this sentiment among the employees grows, they could possibly form a union and protest working until the regulations on internet detection are withdrawn. Either of these situation would dramatically decrease the productivity and morale among the employees, and greatly weaken the recommendation of human resources.

In conclusion, the argument as it currently stands remains fatally flawed due to the unproven assumptions I have listed above. If the vice president of human resources were to somehow provide evidence that would make these assumptions believably true, his/her argument would then be able to be fully evaluated